Survey Monday

About Monica

I enjoy reading and have blogged in the past about travel and books. My latest blog is a vanity blog. I write about whatever comes to mind, specifically, things I think I need in life. Hope you enjoy! View all posts by Monica

8 responses to “Survey Monday

    • Monica

      Evidence of a warped childhood?! I have to admit though, I read The Exorcist in the 6th grade and it influenced me as much, if not more, than some of the ones I asked about in the poll.

      Like

  • Joann

    Burnett’s The Secret Garden, Aesop’s Fables and later in my mid teen, Bronte’s Wuthering Heights. Kinda became an obsession with me.

    Like

    • Monica

      I’m ashamed to admit I never read the Secret Garden. I was engrossed with Aesop’s Fables as well. For some reason, the story of the fox who tried to get the grapes (they’re probably sour anyway) always stuck with me but I don’t know why. I wish I could say I was erudite enough in my young age to have read Wuthering Heights but I think it would have bored me. I didn’t come to appreciate it until much later in life. Thanks for sharing, Jo.

      Like

  • Marla

    I voted for A Wrinkle in Time but I have 2 other favorites: The Wheel on the School by Meindert De Jong and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I see you haven’t read a Scecret Garden (you should! handicapped boy and lonely girl become friends and bring a garden back to life), but have you read A Wheel on the School? It is so wonderful, a group of kids who work together to bring storks back to their little village.Oh and I didn’t read Wuithering Heights until high school; I named my bicycle Heathcliff.

    Like

    • Monica

      So now I have a second book to add to my list on Good Reads. I have never read, nor have I ever heard of, The Wheel on The School by Meindert De Jong. Since your tastes seem to run very close to mine, I would consider it a strong “should-read”. Thanks for stopping by to vote and for sharing, Marla.

      Like

  • Gan

    Lord of the Rings.

    Like

Talk to me!

